過渡服務

James Cooney, Transition Coordinator

703-228-6447辦公室

James.Cooney@apsva.us

什麼是過渡服務?

過渡服務包括為殘障學生提供的以下協調活動:

  • 側重於提高學生的學術和功能成就,以促進他們從學校過渡到學後活動,包括大專學歷,職業教育,綜合就業(包括受支持的就業),繼續和成人教育,成人服務,獨立生活,或社區參與;
  • 根據學生的需求,考慮他們的優勢,喜好和興趣; 和
  • 包括教學,相關服務,社區經驗,就業發展和其他學後成人生活目標,以及在適當時獲得日常生活技能和功能性職業評估。

《 IDEA(殘疾人教育法)條例》第二次過渡。 (2007年2月XNUMX日)。 摘自《殘疾學生和青年的高等教育和就業過渡指南》

過渡服務何時開始?

學生的IEP(個性化教育計劃)在進入中學之前必須包括中學後目標和過渡服務,但不得遲於14歲(或更年輕,如果IEP小組決定將其生效)時生效的第一個IEP。是適當的)。

阿靈頓公立學校過渡協調員:

過渡協調員與每所高中,高中課程和初中一起工作,以幫助學生穿越學校進入成人生活。 協調員可以提供支持或與支持建立聯繫的區域包括但不限於以下區域:

  • 自決主張的發展
  • 專上教育和職業規劃
  • 職業評估與培訓
  • 文憑選項說明
  • 獨立的生活支持和社區參與
  • Procedures for requesting accommodations in post-secondary education and employment settings
  • 簡歷建設和麵試技巧開發
  • 成人服務機構推薦

為什麼過渡服務對Shriver計劃很重要?

  • 過渡協調員提供學校系統與成人服務之間的聯繫。
  • The Transition Coordinator aids the family, seeking to ensure that the needs of the student are addressed in post-secondary plans.o These plans can include employment, day programs, residential services, and recreation services.
  • 過渡協調員提供與社會保障福利,醫療補助和豁免服務等服務的連接。

快速鏈接:

過渡書修訂本(2019年終)

確保殘疾兒童的未來 (為《北維京群島弧》的《過渡點》節目製作)

Transition Services

Joyce C. Kelly Transition Coordinator

703-228-6446 Office

Joyce.Kelly@apsva.us

Shriver Web Site #5 (2)

What are Transition Services?

Transition services consist of coordinated activities for a student with a disability that are:

  • Focused on improving the academic and functional achievement of the student to facilitate their movement from school to post-school activities, including post-secondary education, vocational education, integrated employment (including supported employment), continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation;
  • Based on the individual student’s needs, taking into account their strengths, preferences, and interests; and
  • Includes instruction, related services, community experiences, the development of employment and other post-school adult living objectives, and, if appropriate, acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational evaluation.

IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) Regulations Secondary Transition. (2007, February 2). Retrieved from A Transition Guide to Postsecondary Education and Employment for Students and Youth With Disabilities

When do Transition Services Begin?

A student’s IEP (Individualized Education Program) must include post-secondary goals and transition services before they enter secondary school, but no later than the first IEP to be in effect when they reach age 14 (or younger, if the IEP team decides that it is appropriate).

Arlington Public Schools Transition Coordinators:

Transition Coordinators work with each high school, high school program, and middle school to assist students as they move through the schools and into adult life. Areas in which Coordinators can provide or make connections to supports include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Self-determination-advocacy development
  • Post-secondary education and career planning
  • Vocational evaluation and training
  • Explanation of diploma options
  • Independent living support and community participation
  • Procedures for requesting accommodations in post-secondary education andemployment settings
  • Resume building and interview skill development
  • Adult service agency referrals

Why are Transition Services important to the Shriver Program?

  • The Transition Coordinator provides the connection between the school system and the adult service.
  • The Transition Coordinator aids the family, seeking to ensure that the needs of the student are addressed in post-secondary plans.o Theseplanscanincludeemployment,dayprogram,residentialservices,and recreation services.
  • The Transition Coordinator provides connections to services like Social Security benefits, Medicaid, and waiver services.

Quick Links:

The Transition Book Revised (final 2019)

Securing A Future for Your Child with A Disability (Produced for the Transition Points Program of the Arc of Northern Virgin)